UPNetwork  

Go Back   UPNetwork > General Forums > The Misc

Old 08-08-2007, 07:24 PM   #1
Talon87
時の彼方へ

$700 for a dog?

I just saw an ad on Purdue's Facebook Marketplace for a "Cairn Terrier (just like Toto from the Wizard of Oz!)" asking for $700. When I considered that our awesome cat was picked up, abandoned in a parking structure in downtown Indianapolis, for free, and when I consider how many other cats and dogs there are either on the streets or in pounds in need of homes, I have to ask myself who in their right mind would spend $700 just to purchase this dog. I have no experience with pound animals, but ... can't you usually pick a dog up at the pound for like $30? What gives? $700 just because it's the same breed as Toto? Give me a fucking break, it's not even the right color!
Talon87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2007, 08:07 PM   #2
Talon87
時の彼方へ

Re: $700 for a dog?

Oh, I understand that, Dami. I'm still saying it's crazy. (Also, if we want to talk about pedigree dogs ... purebreds aren't worth the trouble. It's like buying a Rolls Royce that has the durability of a Toyota Camry. :x You'll pay out the nose for vaccines, shots, cancer therapy, etc. etc. for a purebred dog ... they've got so many genetic problems. @_@)
Old 08-08-2007, 08:33 PM   #3
Doppleganger
我が名は勇者王!

Send a message via AIM to Doppleganger

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xuande