UPNetwork  

Go Back   UPNetwork > General Forums > Video Games

Old 10-31-2016, 07:57 AM   #1
Doppleganger
我が名は勇者王!

Send a message via AIM to Doppleganger
I need games

I have a temporary Amazon PRIME membership I intend to cancel before I have to pay for it. I want to use this time to buy up computer games that I've missed out on over the years.

I'm open to anything provided it's good and online-DRM free. There can be no always online DRM at all because I'm morally against it.

I don't have a mouse or any joysticks, so this needs to be touchpad/keyboard capable.

I've played almost nothing American from 1999-2015, so I'm very open to new and old suggestions. I have little experience with non-niche Japanese games, too.

What BBB has given me so far:

Elder Scrolls Morrowind
Elder Scrolls Skyrim
Dark Souls

Any other recommendations?
あきらめない 心かさね
永遠を抱きしめて
Doppleganger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2016, 08:44 AM   #2
Concept
Archbishop of Banterbury

Send a message via Skype™ to Concept
Dark Souls is an excellent shout. Other things I would highly recommend:
  • XCOM: Enemy Within
  • Rome: Total War (not Rome II)
  • Portal (both 1 and 2)
  • Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic
  • Deus Ex (the original)
  • Planescape: Torment
  • The Witness
  • Hitman: Blood Money
Deus Ex is probably my favourite of the list; it was one of the earliest action rpgs with an emphasis on player choice in how to tackle obstacles, and is still one of the most flexible in that regard ever made and also has the benefit of not shoehorning in a heavyhanded binary morality. That said; Deus Ex, Hitman and Portal would all be made easier by mouse over touchpad (although I successfully played Deus Ex through on touchpad without too much hassle I wouldn't recommend it for Portal or Hitman). I also honestly wouldn't recommend trying to play through Dark Souls without a controller of some sort.

Last edited by Concept; 10-31-2016 at 08:54 AM.
Concept is offline   Reply With Quote