UPNetwork  

Go Back   UPNetwork > General Forums > Debate

Closed Thread

Old 05-03-2008, 11:00 AM   #1
Talon87
時の彼方へ

Vaccines & Autism

I'm going to dive right into this, so if you're not familiar with the argument that vaccines may be implicated in autism, then you need to read up on that at least a little before reading on.

As a medical student, I find the arguments from the anti-vaccine camp to be more than a little short-sighted. It is human nature for people to cry foul when they get burned -- even when they know that they're the 1 in 100,000,000 case that gets burned. What makes the autism debate different is that (1) the link remains nebulous and so people's imaginations are free to run wild and (2) the incidence of autism in the United States has approached a diagnosed rate of 1 in a 1000 live births, permitting the anti-vaccine camp to argue that all 1 in 1000 have been vaccine-linked. Unfortunately, there are many problems with the anti-vaccine camp's arguments even should they prove to be correct about the link!

1. Weighing Pros and Cons