UPNetwork  

Go Back   UPNetwork > Independent Forums > Fizzy Bubbles > FB Development

Old 06-17-2017, 12:18 AM   #1
TheKnightsFury
Volcano Badge

Magikarp Leveling Up

So I know I am a FB newbie but I have had some time to assess this and think it is probably worth discussing. I have talked with a few updators and it seems that how Pokemon level in zones is still a little muddy. Essentially levels are only really given for battles, but that to me kind of limits creativity and shuts a lot of Pokemon out from being able to contribute and still level. A Pokemon gains experience during battle yes? Does a Pokemon carrying out a task like carrying a Pokemon to safety not also gain experience?

From what I have gathered, a Pokemon is required to directly to participate in a battle or battle-like scenario in order to gain a level. What about the Pokemon that can't really battle all that well due to either being a really low level and having barely any moves or those that just can't really battle? (lol Magikarp)

I feel like we could probably open up discussion about whether we should be giving Pokemon levels for carrying out tasks as well as battling. Obviously simply walking/flying/swimming around isn't going to give levels, but structured movements and acts over a period of time would. I will provide a personal example.....