UPNetwork  

Go Back   UPNetwork > Independent Forums > PASBL > Suggestions and Inquiries

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-26-2016, 12:43 PM   #51
rotomotorz
Careful on the "goods"
 
rotomotorz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Your sweaty, smelly bag
Posts: 2,477
For the sig wipe, can we also submit sigs that are in icebox?
__________________
o O O
o
TS__[O]
{======|_|""T""|_|""r""|_|""a""|_|""i""|_|""n""|
/o--000'"`-0-0-'"`-0-0-'"`-0-0-'"`-0-0-'"`-0-0-'
Squad Summary

rotomotorz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2016, 01:10 PM   #52
Jerichi
本✚能
 
Jerichi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: 蒸気の波の中
Posts: 14,494
Of course, though we would recommend you be sure they fit the guidelines.
__________________


気紛れを 許して 今更なんて思わずに急かしてよ
もっと中迄入って あたしの衝動を 突き動かしてよ

asbwffb

[jerichi]
Jerichi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2016, 01:43 AM   #53
deh74
~Smelly cat, smelly cat~
 
deh74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: United States/Germany
Posts: 1,058
Can Sweet Kiss be popped in a similar manner to Shadow Ball and other energy moves? Like, I just need to know if that's a possibility. I seem to remember it being this way in the past but may be wrong. Thank you in advance.
__________________
The Whistling Sound of Impending Doom.



Check out my PASBL stuff!
Former C+ Grade ref, currently ungraded.


Need a battle reffed? PM me.
deh74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2016, 12:06 PM   #54
Jerichi
本✚能
 
Jerichi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: 蒸気の波の中
Posts: 14,494
You could probably counter it with an energy attack like a normal attack. This is really a Q&A question though.
__________________


気紛れを 許して 今更なんて思わずに急かしてよ
もっと中迄入って あたしの衝動を 突き動かしてよ

asbwffb

[jerichi]
Jerichi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2016, 12:08 PM   #55
deh74
~Smelly cat, smelly cat~
 
deh74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: United States/Germany
Posts: 1,058
Yeah I figured as much, on both counts. Thanks though Jeri.
__________________
The Whistling Sound of Impending Doom.



Check out my PASBL stuff!
Former C+ Grade ref, currently ungraded.


Need a battle reffed? PM me.
deh74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2016, 11:45 AM   #56
Kuvario
Mysterious Knight
 
Kuvario's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,918
So this match, I never reffed the latest round, Fighting Gym stopped being a thing, Toy left, and Josh's queue got deleted.

How do the points get distributed, if there are any?
Kuvario is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2016, 11:47 AM   #57
Jerichi
本✚能
 
Jerichi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: 蒸気の波の中
Posts: 14,494
The points of a draw are fine.
__________________


気紛れを 許して 今更なんて思わずに急かしてよ
もっと中迄入って あたしの衝動を 突き動かしてよ

asbwffb

[jerichi]
Jerichi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2016, 11:49 AM   #58
Kuvario
Mysterious Knight
 
Kuvario's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,918
So it can't be a DQ victory for Josh even though Toy left and desired to be DQ'd (or have his matches cancelled) in his matches?

Just wanting to clear that up.
Kuvario is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2016, 11:57 AM   #59
Jerichi
本✚能
 
Jerichi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: 蒸気の波の中
Posts: 14,494
In this case I'd say it's fine since it's basically equivalent to what would happen if you had reffed the round.
__________________


気紛れを 許して 今更なんて思わずに急かしてよ
もっと中迄入って あたしの衝動を 突き動かしてよ

asbwffb

[jerichi]
Jerichi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2016, 12:19 PM   #60
Kuvario
Mysterious Knight
 
Kuvario's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,918
Cool, thanks Jeri!
Kuvario is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2016, 09:35 AM   #61
Emi
ACHILLESSSSS
 
Emi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Agartha
Posts: 11,152
Send a message via Skype™ to Emi
Warning incoming maths that might cause people to become unduly angry:

In a scenario where my opponent is under the effects of Simple Beam, uses Shell Smash, and then I use Power Swap, how does the damage play out? Would I do 60% more damage or would it be more like 75% (if the idea is that if you drop someone's defense by 50% they take double damage).

I've assume its the former but people rarely if ever use defense debuffs effectively so I was curious.
__________________


Quote:
Zelphon - Today at 5:29 AM
If the current political climate has taught me anything
It's that a purge via gay witches may very well be necessary
Emi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2016, 10:30 AM   #62
rotomotorz
Careful on the "goods"
 
rotomotorz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Your sweaty, smelly bag
Posts: 2,477
Does Aura Sphere hit through Substitute?
__________________
o O O
o
TS__[O]
{======|_|""T""|_|""r""|_|""a""|_|""i""|_|""n""|
/o--000'"`-0-0-'"`-0-0-'"`-0-0-'"`-0-0-'"`-0-0-'
Squad Summary

rotomotorz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2016, 10:48 AM   #63
Jerichi
本✚能
 
Jerichi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: 蒸気の波の中
Posts: 14,494
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emi View Post
Warning incoming maths that might cause people to become unduly angry:

In a scenario where my opponent is under the effects of Simple Beam, uses Shell Smash, and then I use Power Swap, how does the damage play out? Would I do 60% more damage or would it be more like 75% (if the idea is that if you drop someone's defense by 50% they take double damage).

I've assume its the former but people rarely if ever use defense debuffs effectively so I was curious.
C'mon Emi why do you do these things to me.

Max boost level is 25% so you'd only pick up 50%.


Quote:
Originally Posted by rotomotorz View Post
Does Aura Sphere hit through Substitute?
No.
Jerichi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2016, 11:09 AM   #64
Emi
ACHILLESSSSS
 
Emi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Agartha
Posts: 11,152
Send a message via Skype™ to Emi
No wait I'm confused now how does that work.

Surely a Shell Smash under the effects of Simple Beam would be a 40% boost right? Otherwise the move is a lot less useful.
__________________


Quote:
Zelphon - Today at 5:29 AM
If the current political climate has taught me anything
It's that a purge via gay witches may very well be necessary
Emi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2016, 12:35 PM   #65
Altocharizard55
The Scientist
 
Altocharizard55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: The Republican Capitol of America
Posts: 1,199
Actually, I'm left with a question too at this point. Suppose the following:

A Pokemon A with a 25% offensive buff in X will deal 1.25x damage with X attacks.
A Pokemon B with a 25% defensive debuff in X will take 1.25x damage from X attacks. (Emi pointed out another interpretation; that a Pokemon debuffed by 25% in defense would have 75%, or 3/4ths of its original defense, meaning that Pokemon B would take around 1.33x (Precisely 4/3 x) damage from X attack by reciprocal argument, although I don't think I subscribe to this.)

Pokemon A lands an X attack on Pokemon B.

Mathematically speaking, Pokemon B should take a little less than 1.6x (Precisely, (1.25)^2 x) damage from X attack, as the multiplier is applied two times (Temporally, the offensive buff applies to the attack first, then the defensive debuff applies to the incoming damage). But by what you said in the previous post, I am led to believe that the debuff would instead add a flat 25% to the damage. I can't find any information on the site or otherwise that describes this form of boost stacking, and if it works the way you seem to be describing, it's actually pretty unintuitive.

My question: How does this actually work? (Also, I suggest this answer be added to the Boosts and Drops description at some point in the future when you guys have time.)
__________________


PASBL Stats

TL 4 (35-21-6)
Current owner of the Onslaught Badge and the Monolith Badge
Previous owner of the Indurate Badge and the Dual Wing Badge (Pre-scrap)
216 TP - 84 KOs - 20 SP (11 SP Debt to Machamp-X)
(W/L/D and stats recompiled as of 4/25/17)
Observe. Adapt. Evolve.

Last edited by Altocharizard55; 07-04-2016 at 12:57 PM.
Altocharizard55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2016, 12:52 PM   #66
Jerichi
本✚能
 
Jerichi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: 蒸気の波の中
Posts: 14,494
Oh man sorry I totally misinterpreted your question Emi sorry.

Whatever the more conservative answer is is probably right so 60% is probably the answer in this case.

That said in a real-battle situation, I would probably cap that on some level and strain you more for using a super-boosted attack even if boosts explicitly say they do not use more energy.
Jerichi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2016, 12:57 PM   #67
Emi
ACHILLESSSSS
 
Emi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Agartha
Posts: 11,152
Send a message via Skype™ to Emi
Alright, that makes sense. Good thing Simple Beam isn't completely devalued. Ty Jeri!
__________________


Quote:
Zelphon - Today at 5:29 AM
If the current political climate has taught me anything
It's that a purge via gay witches may very well be necessary
Emi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 05:06 PM   #68
Emi
ACHILLESSSSS
 
Emi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Agartha
Posts: 11,152
Send a message via Skype™ to Emi
Quote:
Illegal Moves
A small number of moves that are considered legal in-game are banned or unusable in the ASB.
Pikachu - Fly, Pain Split (Pichu can use Pain Split, but since Notch Ear Pichu cannot evolve, neither Pikachu nor Raichu have access to the move)
Eevee - Transform
I thought Transform Eevee was an old ASBDex glitch. Why is it even here since there is no evidence of Eevee even learning the move.
__________________


Quote:
Zelphon - Today at 5:29 AM
If the current political climate has taught me anything
It's that a purge via gay witches may very well be necessary
Emi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2016, 09:30 AM   #69
Altocharizard55
The Scientist
 
Altocharizard55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: The Republican Capitol of America
Posts: 1,199
Quote:
Originally Posted by Altocharizard55 View Post
Actually, I'm left with a question too at this point. Suppose the following:

A Pokemon A with a 25% offensive buff in X will deal 1.25x damage with X attacks.
A Pokemon B with a 25% defensive debuff in X will take 1.25x damage from X attacks. (Emi pointed out another interpretation; that a Pokemon debuffed by 25% in defense would have 75%, or 3/4ths of its original defense, meaning that Pokemon B would take around 1.33x (Precisely 4/3 x) damage from X attack by reciprocal argument, although I don't think I subscribe to this.)

Pokemon A lands an X attack on Pokemon B.

Mathematically speaking, Pokemon B should take a little less than 1.6x (Precisely, (1.25)^2 x) damage from X attack, as the multiplier is applied two times (Temporally, the offensive buff applies to the attack first, then the defensive debuff applies to the incoming damage). But by what you said in the previous post, I am led to believe that the debuff would instead add a flat 25% to the damage. I can't find any information on the site or otherwise that describes this form of boost stacking, and if it works the way you seem to be describing, it's actually pretty unintuitive.

My question: How does this actually work? (Also, I suggest this answer be added to the Boosts and Drops description at some point in the future when you guys have time.)
-nudges this-
__________________


PASBL Stats

TL 4 (35-21-6)
Current owner of the Onslaught Badge and the Monolith Badge
Previous owner of the Indurate Badge and the Dual Wing Badge (Pre-scrap)
216 TP - 84 KOs - 20 SP (11 SP Debt to Machamp-X)
(W/L/D and stats recompiled as of 4/25/17)
Observe. Adapt. Evolve.
Altocharizard55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2016, 04:46 AM   #70
TheKnightsFury
Volcano Badge
 
TheKnightsFury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 2,918
Benevolent Overlord Jeri.

Can we please get a firm and final ruling on a KO ending a round in a doubles match. I have found a few posts confirming this, one from yourself, but it needs to be made clear because I have noticed some confusion on it recently.

http://forums.upnetwork.net/showthre...les#post664326

Thank you
__________________
TheKnightsFury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2016, 07:27 AM   #71
Jerichi
本✚能
 
Jerichi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: 蒸気の波の中
Posts: 14,494
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerichi View Post
The round ends when a KO happens. This curbs type spam nukes.
Jerichi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2016, 09:58 AM   #72
Connor
Who Knows?
 
Connor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 7,984
Can we also make it so that turn order is preserved following a KO? This was discussed at the same time as we had the discussion on KOs ending rounds in Doubles, but we never took it beyond the discussion stage other than the inevitably ill-fated match between Kush and Sneaze which never finished.
Connor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2016, 10:46 AM   #73
Mercutio
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 14,729
It's a good idea.
Mercutio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 04:36 PM   #74
Eliteknight
Tommy used to work...
 
Eliteknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 2,218
Does the compressed earth version of Stone edge:

Stone Edge (RK) -- Using significant energy, the user generates roughly 10 sharp stones forming them from Rock energy, creating two rings that float around the user, before flinging them at the foe, dealing significant damage. Rock types may alternatively form the stones by compressing the earth in the arena, lowering the energy use to considerable and speeding up the move.

come up from the ground like this:



or is it still generated in the rings like the standard version?
__________________


PASBL Squad l C+ Grade Ref l Grass Gym Trainer

Spoiler: show
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shuckle View Post
Well I don't know I wanted to deal damage and Starmie is inorganic :X
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mercutio View Post
Starmie is a starfish, it is not inorganic :p
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shuckle View Post
Kush I'm TL1. How am I supposed to know things if you don't tell me them?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mercutio View Post
It's a starfish.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Concept View Post
I have 1 SP. Retroactively claiming the SP tax on all the things I did whilst LO.

I now have 1 SP.
Eliteknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2016, 07:48 PM   #75
Jerichi
本✚能
 
Jerichi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: 蒸気の波の中
Posts: 14,494
Still the rings.
__________________


気紛れを 許して 今更なんて思わずに急かしてよ
もっと中迄入って あたしの衝動を 突き動かしてよ

asbwffb

[jerichi]
Jerichi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   UPNetwork > Independent Forums > PASBL > Suggestions and Inquiries


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18 PM.


Design By: Miner Skinz.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.